Clarion Workshop

Clarion E-Bulletin

Alumni Services

Clarion Auction

for Clarion

Your Address


Contact Us


Clarion Circle
Members Only

Donate a Dream


December 19, 2006
For immediate release
Click here for PDF version

Clarion Fundraiser and Staff Announcements

The Clarion Foundation is pleased to announce that the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers' Workshop, one of the world's most respected programs for aspiring sf writers, has a new home at the University of California, San Diego, beginning with its 40th anniversary workshop, June 25 through August 3, 2007.

UCSD Dean of Arts and Humanities Michael Bernstein officially welcomed Clarion on Friday, December 15th and announced that Donald Wesling, professor emeritus of literature at UCSD, and a highly respected teacher of creative writing, would serve as director of the Clarion program. The program will be administered in the university's Department of Literature.

Fundraising for the move to UCSD continues with the Clarion Year Zero initiative, which will run until December 31. The Clarion Foundation and UCSD have designed a tee shirt that celebrates the new beginning for the workshop. This tee shirt is only available for a donation of $100. Donations will be used for scholarships and to help with the expenses of establishing the program at UCSD. As Kate Wilhelm, co-founder of Clarion said, "We hope that friends of Clarion will think about helping us at this critical time as we make the move to our new home. This isn't just about a tee shirt. It's about saying, 'I was there when Clarion needed us most.'"

There has been a change in the roster of writers-in-residence for the 2007 workshop. Mary Anne Mohanraj, who was originally scheduled to teach the third week, has a conflict and instead will teach during the 2008 workshop. Taking her place will be Karen Joy Fowler, best selling author of the Jane Austen Book Club. Fowler, a Nebula Award winner, is widely regarded as one of the program's most charismatic instructors; this will be her seventh Clarion. The rest of the faculty will be as announced: Gregory Frost, Jeff VanderMeer, Cory Doctorow, Delia Sherman and Ellen Kushner.

Clarion will begin accepting applications on January 31, 2007 at

Clarion is supported in part by
the Arthur C. Clarke Center
for Human Imagination at the
University of California San Diego

Clarke logo


Copyright © 2006-2022 by The Clarion Foundation

Updated December 22, 2006





Mystery Guest

Okay, so it probably won't be an astronaut. Check back for the grand re-opening of the Clarion Circle, and the resumption of Clarion Live Chats soon!
Date TBA

Mysterious Galaxy logo

Contribute to Clarion.
Buy from Mysterious Galaxy,
your independent bookseller.

Auction ad graphic

eBay Sellers!

Giving Works graphic

Donate a percentage
of some or all sales
to Clarion through
eBay Giving Works!